Community Advisory Board

As ambassadors for Children's Hospital of Illinois, members of the Community Advisory Board lead, act and advocate for the hospital, sharing its role and mission with their respective communities. They also advise the hospital and make important contributions to its fundraising programs.

Community Involvement | 2016 Community Advisory Board

Guiding Principles

Community Involvement | Alexis Bass - drawingOur caring team of nurses, doctors, therapists, social workers, support personnel and child life specialists address the spiritual, emotional and physical needs of the pediatric patient based on these three principles:

  • Children are unique and have special needs.
  • A child's illness impacts the entire family.
  • Childhood illness interferes with normal childhood growth and development.

These principles are guided by the OSF HealthCare Mission, "In the spirit of Christ and the example of Francis of Assisi, the Mission of OSF Healthcare is to serve persons with the greatest care and love in a community that celebrates the gift of life."

Board Representatives

Our thanks to these individuals who share their time and talents with us:

2016-2017 Officers
Jay Harms, President
Bob Woolsey, Vice President
Jayme Bailey, Secretary/Treasurer
Honorary Board Members, Ex-Officio & Staff Members
Cruz, Michael
de Alarcon, Pedro
LaHood, Darin
LaHood, Raymond
Linder, Rex
Magers, Karen
Nierstedt, Kelly
Paul, Amy
Pearl, Richard
Riley, John
Rusch, Sarah
Saving, Kay
Scherer, James
Thome, Jim
Ullman, Sandra
Van Buskirk, Mary Ellen
Welch, Julie
Wells, Mike
Board Members
Bahr, Vicki
Bailey, Jayme
Bash, Patricia
Bash, Stephen
Berry, Melody
Best, Theresa
Bjorkman, Andrea
Blackburn, Joe
Burklund, Jon
Charter, Rob
Cicciarelli, Scott
Davis, Seth
Draeger, Rich
Dubravec, Paul
Ginder, John
Harlan, Kevin
Harms, Jay
Hoerr, Bob
Jeffries, Gennifer
Kepple, Linda
Klaus, Scott
Kolbus, Jeff
Martin-Moushon, Angela
Murphy, Theresa
O’Brien, Dan
Pierce, Tony
Portscheller, Sue
Riekena, Josh
Rossman, Tara
Ruskusky, Jeff
Saurs, Timothy
Sister Judith Ann, O.S.F.
Stigall, Melissa
Van Buskirk, Jamie
Weber, Michael
Wills, Bill
Wong, Peter
Woolsey, Robert
Wright, Jan
Zak-Edmonds, Christine